What the F*ck is a Chakra?

When I read about Charkras for the first time my entire life changed, dramatically! Here is a very brief overview of what a chakra is and why keeping them balanced is so crucial for a happy healthy and meaningful life.

So what the F*ck is a Chakra anyway! Chakra is a Sanskrit term that translates to “wheel” or “disc” .In order for your body to function, it absorbs energy from the Universe through these 7 centres, it pulls this energy inside you and distributes it to various places in your body to keep you healthy. Each chakra correspond to specific organs as well as physical, emotional, psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being and influence all areas of your life.

Ideally, you want all 7 of your Chakras to be balanced and open so that you can feel physically, spiritually, and emotionally well. When your Chakras are balanced and open, they are able to draw enough energy into your body so that it can be used to keep you healthy. In Energy Healing, such as Reiki, I seek to create an even flow of energy through all 7 Chakras to maintain optimal health. 

Most of us react to unpleasant experiences by blocking our feeling and stopping a great deal of our natural energy flow. This affects the maturation and development of the chakras. Whenever a person blocks whatever experience he is having, he in turn blocks his chakras, which eventually become disfigured. When the chakras are functioning normally, each will be open, spinning clockwiseto metabolize the particular energies needed from the universal energy field.

Root Chakra

The root chakra, the first chakra, represents our security and survival in the physical world. If the root chakra is imbalanced, you might have money issues, a fear of moving forward in your life, adrenal fatigue or you may feel like you are on a constant search for something you can't even identify. People with an imbalance of their Root chakra commonly find it difficult to settle down and stay in one. Physically, it is associated with problems in the colon, bladder, elimination, lower back, leg, or feet issues.

When it's balance you we feel safe, confident at home in the world.

Sacral Chakra

The state of your chakras and energy field determine the state of your life - your health, wealth, love life, career, success and joy.

The sacral chakra, which is the second chakra, represents our sexuality and creativity. An imbalance in this Chakra will show up as struggling in relationships, emotional outbursts, depression, lack of creativity, sexual dysfunction, and reproductive disorder. The color of this chakra is represented orange.

A balanced Sacral Chakra will allow you to be warm and friendly, have stable emotions, and create meaningful relationships with those around you. And you’ll be satisfied with your physical and emotional love life. 

Solar plexus

The Solar Plexus is your power house! It's responsible for your gut feelings, willpower, and drive. If this is imbalanced you will struggle with standing up for yourself and saying 'No', making your voice heard, and being seen. It’s connected with your stomach, liver, gallbladder, and nervous system. So any imbalances in the Manipura Chakra can result in health issues in these vital organs. If there is a block in this Chakra, it is possible that you will start to become judgmental and controlling, develop poor self-esteem, become obsessed with perfection, or experience digestive issues. 

A healthy Solar Plexus Chakra can be seen as having faith in your own power to create the life you desire. You’ll also be motivated and be connected to your sense of purpose.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra, the fourth chakra, represents love. An energy imbalance can result in antisocial tendencies, manipulative behaviours or the need to be a people-pleaser. Physically it can manifest as heart disease, or breathing problems. The heart chakra is represented by the colour green and it is the energy center that is in control of your heart, blood, and circulatory system. It’s also connected to your vagus nerve, which is a key part of helping you feel completely and totally relaxed. 

It’s so important to make sure your Heart Chakra is functioning properly… 

If not, then you’ll have a pretty hard time trying to find fulfillment and a true sense of purpose in your life because your connection to your higher self will be blocked!

Throat Chakra

Next, the throat chakra represents your voice and your expression of self and speaking your inner truth. The fifth Chakra relates to the health of your lungs, gastrointestinal tract, and vocal chords. So it’s not uncommon to see things like thyroid disorders, a sore throat, and chronic neck/shoulder pain in someone who has a blocked Throat Chakra.  An imbalance in the Throat Chakra can be associated with someone who lies, engages in too much gossip, fears the truth, and is verbally abusive.

When this energy center is open and clear, you’ll be able to clearly express your ideas, speak your truth, offer sound advice, and communicate authentically. 

Third-Eye Chakra

Then, the sixth chakra, or the "third eye chakra" represents your psychic sight and intuition. If imbalanced you will not be connected to your intuition and often feel disconnected from your life. The third eye chakra is represented as midnight blue. Intuition, memory, and visualization are all connected to this indigo Chakra, which governs your lower brain, left eye, ears, nose, and nervous system. A blockage in this Chakra will result in an overly analytical mind, distrust of others, anxiety, insomnia, migraines, or vision problems.  

Having a balanced Third Eye Chakra allows you to tune into your intuition, think clearly, and make decisions based on the values that are important in your life. 

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, the seventh chakra, the one above the top of your head, it represents your spiritual connection. This violet energy center is where you find a deeper sense of self, uncover your life’s true purpose, and feel at one with all that is. the final Chakra manages your upper brain and right eye. It’s connected to the element of space or spirit. 

Imbalances in this Chakra create confusion, an attachment to the material world, inability to find your connection to the divine, an endless feeling of exhaustion, and spinal diseases. 

An open Crown Chakra gives you the ability to understand your connection to others, be empathetic toward all beings, and uncover your spiritual path. 

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the Chakras and what each one does, you may have discovered that one, or a few, of your Chakras are in need of some Energy Healing. You can do by having Chakra balancing Reiki treatment, through Meditation or by taking a walk bare-foot in the forest